25 Reasons to ROOT. ROOT. ROOT!

Spring training games have finally came to an end. While the Astros opener isn’t until Friday, this is still MLB’s official Opening Night. The Miami Marlins and St. Louis Cardinals battle it out tonight, but I’m going to give you 25 or more reason why you should tune in Friday to watch your Houston Astros. Join the craze, and ROOT. ROOT. ROOT!

INJURY REPORT: By now I’m sure you know Jed Lowrie has been injured. There had been reports that he would start the season on the DL. I’m here to report that he’s hopeful of playing Friday. Nothing showed more signs of that than Angle Sanchez being sent to Oklahoma City and Brian Bixler not making the 25 man roster. Bixler is still an option IF Lowrie can’t play on Friday. But all signs are pointing towards an Opening Day start for Jed Lowrie.

The Astros wrapped up their Spring Training schedule Wednesday versus the Chicago White Sox in a 5-5 tie. Now I’m sure I’m like most of you. I don’t like ties. I think of it as kissing your sister. Just down right nasty! But like everyone else, I’m just glad Spring Training is finally over! I was getting very tired of keeping up with games that didn’t mean anything. I promise, I’ll be a better blogger during the regular season! Remember those 25 reasons to keep up with the Astros? Well the 25 man roster was finally released today. So lets take a look into those 25 reasons. (Players in italics are on OD roster for first time.)

PITCHERS:

Fernando Abad (L)

David Carpenter

Rhiner Cruz

J.A. Happ (L)

Lucas Harrell

Wilton Lopez

Brandon Lyon

Brett Myers

Bud Norris

Fernando Rodriguez

Wandy Rodriguez (L)

Kyle Weiland

Wesley Wright (L)

CATCHERS:

Jason Castro

Chris Snyder

INFIELDERS

Jose Altuve

Matt Downs

Marwin Gonzalez

Chris Johnson

Carlos Lee

Jed Lowrie

OUTFIELDERS

Brian Bogusevic

Travis Buck

J.D. Martinez

Jordan Schafer

I obviously don’t take credit for reporting the 25 man roster first. I’d like to thank Brian McTaggart for his reports on the 25 man roster and supplying us Astros fans with a list of the roster and a list of the players on the roster for the first time. I don’t know about you guys, but I’m really excited for this Astros team. So for me, that’s my 25 reasons to ROOT. ROOT. ROOT!

–Lee White

Leave a Reply

